Q2 2026 · NASDAQ · Aug 30, 2026

PDD The Stock Fell 43% in Two Years — Did the Business Actually Get Worse?

PDD Holdings' second-quarter 2026 results show revenue growing 8% and operating profit up 7.6%, yet net income fell 12% on a second straight quarter of large, unexplained swings in "other income." The market has now priced the ADS down 43% from its two-year high, well beyond what the trailing fundamentals have actually deteriorated.

The Widening Gap Between the Operating Story and the Headline Number

PDD Holdings' second-quarter 2026 results, covering the three months ended June 30, 2026, are unaudited - furnished to the SEC as an exhibit to a Form 6-K, the same disclosure format as the Q1 2026 post. That post flagged a first-of-its-kind divergence between a strengthening operating business and a weakening headline profit number, driven by an unexplained RMB5.9 billion swing across two catch-all income lines. This quarter repeats the pattern, with a different catch-all line doing the damage: revenue grew 8.1% year-over-year to RMB112,358 million (US$16,560 million), and operating profit grew 7.6% to RMB27,764 million - a genuine, if slightly slower, continuation of Q1's re-acceleration. But "other income/(loss), net" swung from a RMB119 million gain in Q2 2025 to a RMB7,399 million loss this quarter, a RMB7,518 million reversal that "interest and investment income, net" (up 29.6% to RMB13,505 million) only partly offset. Net of both lines, profit before tax fell 6.3% and net income attributable to ordinary shareholders fell 11.6% to RMB27,182 million (US$4,006 million).

This is now the second consecutive quarter the operating business improved while net income fell - and, just as in Q1, the press release offers no line-item explanation for what moved inside "other income/(loss)." What's different this quarter is where the market has taken the stock: the ADS closed at $76.28 on June 30, 2026, down from $102.18 at the end of Q1 and down 43% from its trailing two-year high of $134.87 (October 2025). More on what that gap between the price move and the underlying numbers means for valuation below.

The Prescription

What PDD should keep doing: holding operating profit growth roughly in line with revenue growth the way it did again this quarter (7.6% operating-profit growth against 8.1% revenue growth, margin essentially flat at 24.7%). Two consecutive quarters of the core marketplace-and-logistics business performing steadily, even as the headline profit number gets whipsawed by items below the operating line, is exactly the signal a shareholder should be weighting more heavily than the net-income print.

What it should stop doing: letting "other income/(loss), net" keep functioning as an unexplained, multi-billion-RMB swing factor two quarters running. A single unexplained catch-all-line swing (Q1) can be a one-off; a second one in the opposite direction, on a different line, is the start of a pattern a reader can no longer treat as noise. If this remains unexplained into a third quarter, it stops being a footnote-mining curiosity and becomes the actual story of PDD's earnings quality.

Key Financial Metrics

Three months ended June 30, 2026 vs. three months ended June 30, 2025 (unaudited)

FX: RMB 6.7851 = USD 1.00 (the noon buying rate as of June 30, 2026, per the company's own filing). Only the current quarter (Q2 2026) is translated to USD in the source document; Q2 2025 is shown in RMB only, as the filing itself presents it - year-over-year change is computed on the RMB figures.

Metric Q2 2026 (RMB) Q2 2026 (USD) Q2 2025 (RMB) YoY
Revenue 112,358M $16,560M 103,985M +8.1%
Costs of revenues (48,017M) ($7,077M) (45,859M) +4.7%
Sales and marketing expenses (29,668M) ($4,373M) (27,210M) +9.0%
General and administrative expenses (2,342M) ($345M) (1,532M) +52.9%
Research and development expenses (4,567M) ($673M) (3,591M) +27.2%
Operating profit 27,764M (24.7% margin) $4,092M 25,793M (24.8% margin) +7.6%, margin -0.1pp
Interest and investment income, net 13,505M $1,990M 10,423M +29.6%
Other income/(loss), net (7,399M) ($1,090M) 119M swung to a loss
Profit before income tax 33,312M $4,910M 35,536M -6.3%
Net income (attributable to ordinary shareholders) 27,182M (24.2% margin) $4,006M 30,754M (29.6% margin) -11.6%, margin -5.4pp
Non-GAAP net income 28,489M $4,199M 32,709M -12.9%
Diluted EPS (per ADS) RMB18.45 $2.72 RMB20.75 -11.1%
Net cash from operating activities 25,670M $3,783M 21,642M +18.6%
Cash and cash equivalents (period-end) 128,918M $19,000M n/a (Dec 2025: 108,901M) +18.4% vs. Dec 2025

PDD does not disclose Adjusted EBITDA» in this filing, consistent with every prior period. Free cash flow still can't be computed: the condensed cash flow statement in this unaudited interim exhibit has no separate capex line, the same limitation noted in the Q1 2026 post.

Balance sheet Jun 2026 (RMB) Jun 2026 (USD) Dec 2025 (RMB) Change
Total assets 663,407M $97,774M 630,045M +5.3%
Total liabilities 215,620M $31,778M 216,660M -0.5%
Total shareholders' equity 447,787M $65,996M 413,385M +8.3%

Operating profit grew 7.6% and net cash from operations grew 18.6%, but a RMB7.5 billion unexplained swing in "other income/(loss)" - the second such swing in two consecutive quarters - dragged net income down 11.6% and margin down 5.4 points.

Key Operational Metrics

PDD does not disclose Gross Merchandise Value, active buyers, active merchants, or monthly active users in this filing - not available, the same pattern flagged since the FY2025 post. The two-line revenue split is again the only operational color available, and it reversed direction from last quarter:

  • Online marketing services and others: RMB57,637 million ($8,494 million), up 3.5% YoY - now 51.3% of revenue, back above transaction services.
  • Transaction services: RMB54,721 million ($8,066 million), up 13.3% YoY - now 48.7% of revenue.

The Q1 2026 post flagged transaction services overtaking online marketing services as PDD's larger revenue line for the first time (53.0% vs. 47.0%). That crossover didn't hold - online marketing is back in front this quarter, though by a narrower margin than the pre-Q1 gap (51.3%/48.7% versus a year ago's 53.6%/46.4%). See Beyond the Usual for what this reversal does and doesn't tell a reader. PDD still reports a single operating segment, so there remains no company-disclosed split between the domestic Pinduoduo marketplace and the international Temu platform behind either line's movement.

Seasonality note: Q2 has no major structural seasonal effect comparable to Q1's Chinese New Year slowdown for Chinese e-commerce, so the year-over-year comparison above isn't distorted by a seasonal mismatch.

Beyond the Usual

The standing FY2025 threads remain dark for a second straight quarter

The FY2025 post flagged three items still unresolved as of that filing: the Ningbo Hexin related-party loan (RMB910.6 million), the auditor's move from a mainland-China EY affiliate to a Hong Kong one, and the VIE's» shrinking share of consolidated revenue. The Q1 2026 post already noted these can't be checked from an unaudited 6-K exhibit, and that remains true this quarter: the balance sheet again shows only aggregate "amounts due from related parties" (RMB8,432 million, down 17.4% from RMB10,205 million at year-end 2025) and "amounts due to related parties" (RMB1,266 million, up 16.5%), with no breakdown of either. All three threads stay dark until PDD's FY2026 20-F.

A second consecutive quarter where a below-the-line catch-all number, not the operating business, drove the profit swing

In Q1 2026, a combined RMB5.9 billion swing in "interest and investment income/(loss)" and "other income/(loss)" turned a 21.6% operating-profit gain into a 14.9% net-income decline. This quarter, "other income/(loss), net" alone swung RMB7,518 million (from a RMB119 million gain to a RMB7,399 million loss), while "interest and investment income, net" actually improved 29.6% - a different composition, but the same result: a below-the-line, undisclosed-driver line overriding what the operating P&L actually showed. Two quarters in a row of large, unexplained swings in these lines is no longer a one-off - it's the item most worth watching heading into Q3, since a third consecutive swing would be hard to keep calling incidental.

The online-marketing/transaction-services crossover flagged last quarter reversed after one quarter

Transaction services overtaking online marketing services in Q1 2026 was flagged there as a genuine shift in PDD's revenue mix. This quarter, online marketing services (RMB57,637 million, 51.3% of revenue) is back ahead of transaction services (RMB54,721 million, 48.7%) - a reminder that a single-quarter crossover in a two-line, single-segment disclosure can reverse just as quickly as it appeared, and shouldn't be read as a structural shift without at least two consecutive quarters confirming it in the same direction.

R&D has now outgrown every other expense line for three straight periods

Research and development expenses grew 27.2% year-over-year to RMB4,567 million, again the fastest-growing line on the income statement - following Q1 2026's 23.5% R&D growth and FY2025's 30.3% full-year R&D growth. Three consecutive periods of R&D outpacing every other cost line, including revenue itself, is a sustained investment pattern rather than a one-quarter blip, and is worth tracking against whatever product or platform initiative eventually surfaces from it.

The cash pile keeps growing against a still nearly debt-free balance sheet

Cash and cash equivalents, restricted cash, and short-term investments together totaled roughly RMB533,688 million ($78,660 million) at quarter-end, up 7.6% from roughly RMB496,140 million at the end of FY2025 - now more than 2.4x the company's RMB215,620 million of total liabilities, none of which is interest-bearing debt. The buffer referenced in the Q1 2026 post continues to grow even across two quarters of falling net income.

Target Valuation Range

PDD's TTM EV/Revenue multiple compressed from Q1 2026's ~2.56x to roughly 1.88x this quarter, even though TTM revenue grew 4.4% and TTM net income fell only 5.9% - a much larger gap between multiple compression and fundamental change than Q1 showed. That implies a fair-value range of roughly $59-$107 depending on where the multiple normalizes, with the current $76.28 price sitting near the bear end: modestly undervalued if the multiple compression is sentiment-driven, fairly priced if it reflects a genuine repricing of recurring non-operating volatility and tariff/regulatory risk.

PDD's ADS closed at $76.28 on June 30, 2026, the quarter's period-end price - down 25.4% from Q1 2026's $102.18 close and down 43.4% from the trailing two-year high of $134.87 (October 2025). PDD has not split its Nasdaq-listed stock since its 2018 IPO, so these are actual nominal prices, not split-adjusted figures. This is a large enough move to warrant its own section under the price-move threshold: a ~35-40%+ peak-to-trough swing is exactly the threshold at which the price move needs its own explanation rather than a passing mention inside valuation. Over the trailing two years, the ADS ranged from a low of $76.28 (this quarter, also the period low) to that October 2025 high - most of the decline has come in the two quarters since, not gradually across the full window.

Market cap → enterprise value Q2 2026 (period-end)
Share price (period-end, per ADS) $76.28
ADS outstanding (diluted weighted-avg ordinary shares ÷ 4) ~1,473.5 million
Market capitalization ~$112.4 billion (~RMB762.6 billion)
Plus: total liabilities ~$31.8 billion (RMB215.6 billion)
Less: cash and cash equivalents ~$19.0 billion (RMB128.9 billion)
Enterprise value ~$125.2 billion (~RMB849.3 billion)

ADS count divides the income statement's diluted weighted-average ordinary share count (5,894 million) by four, per the filing's own ADS-to-ordinary-share ratio, consistent with the Q1 2026 post's method. "Less: cash and cash equivalents" uses the narrowest cash line only; PDD separately holds RMB77.3 billion of restricted cash and RMB327.5 billion of short-term investments not netted into this EV (see Beyond the Usual).

Peer-multiple sanity check FY2025 (year-end) Q1 2026 (TTM) Q2 2026 (TTM) Change
Revenue RMB431,846M RMB442,403M (TTM) RMB450,776M ($66.4B, TTM) +1.9% vs Q1 TTM
Enterprise value ~RMB1,236.4B ~RMB1,134.1B ~RMB849.3B -25.1% vs Q1
EV/Revenue» ~2.86x ~2.56x ~1.88x compressed sharply
Net income RMB97,843M RMB95,648M (TTM) RMB92,076M (TTM) -3.7% vs Q1 TTM
P/E» (market cap ÷ TTM net income) ~11.54x ~10.91x ~8.28x compressed sharply

TTM figures use the last four disclosed quarters available (FY2025 total, less H1 2025, plus H1 2026 - the only trailing-quarter comparison possible given PDD reports full fiscal years, not standalone quarters, for periods before Q1 2026). Both multiples have now compressed for two straight quarters even as TTM revenue kept growing - the market has moved the price down considerably faster than trailing fundamentals have actually deteriorated, which is the basis for this section's opening verdict.

DCF (illustrative only): A full multi-year DCF still isn't warranted - two quarters of non-operating-driven earnings volatility aren't enough new information to project multi-year cash flows against, the same reasoning as the Q1 2026 post. Each scenario instead applies a stated EV/Revenue multiple to TTM revenue ($66.4 billion) and backs out implied market cap and price using the same liabilities/cash figures as the buildup table above:

Scenario Key assumption Multiple Implied EV Implied price
Current (Q2 2026 close) actual market price, for reference ~1.88x TTM revenue ~$125.2 billion $76.28
Bear The non-operating swings recur or worsen into Q3, the online-marketing/transaction-services reversal signals a genuinely more volatile revenue mix, and multiple compression continues toward a more distressed peer level 1.5x TTM revenue ~$99.7 billion ~$58.96
Base The multiple stabilizes near its current level as the market treats two quarters of non-operating volatility as the new normal rather than a further-worsening trend ~1.88x (unchanged) ~$125.1 billion ~$76.23
Bull The below-the-line swings prove to be temporary and don't recur in Q3, and the multiple re-rates back toward Q1 2026's ~2.56x level 2.56x TTM revenue ~$170.1 billion ~$106.75

Reverse DCF: At the current $125.2 billion enterprise value and 1.88x TTM revenue, the market is pricing PDD well below where it sat even one quarter ago (2.56x), despite TTM revenue growth continuing (+1.9% quarter-over-quarter on a TTM basis) and TTM net income falling only 3.7% over the same span. The gap between the multiple move and the fundamentals move implies the market is now pricing in either a structural earnings-quality concern (the recurring non-operating swings becoming a permanent feature) or a broader risk re-rating (regulatory, tariff, or Temu-specific) not yet visible in the disclosed numbers - a question next quarter's filing, and whether "other income/(loss)" swings a third time, will help answer.


PDD Holdings Inc.'s unaudited financial results for the second quarter ended June 30, 2026, furnished to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission as an exhibit to a Form 6-K on August 24, 2026. Share-price figures are sourced from this project's standard market-data pipeline, not the company's own filing.